NASA Connecticut Space Grant Consortium (CTSGC) is a federally mandated grant, internship, and scholarship program that is funded as a part of NASA Education. There are Space Grant Consortia in all 50 states, plus Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico. NASA CTSGC, in an effort to encourage broader participation in NASA research programs, was formed in 1991 by the following post-secondary education institutions: Trinity College, University of Connecticut, and University of New Haven with the University of Hartford as the lead institution.

The CTSGC Purpose

    • Inspire the pursuit of careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), especially within groups who have traditionally been underrepresented within the STEM disciplines
    • Be the model for STEM-based professional development
    • Contribute to the development of Connecticut’s economy and STEM pipeline
    • Provide an environment in which all stakeholders understand and contribute to the Consortium’s mission.

The CTSGC Mission

The mission of the NASA CTSGC is to further the efforts started through NASA’s Education Strategic Framework, Lines of Business, and the National Space Grant Program Goals and Objectives. Specifically, NASA CTSGC has three major goals:

    • To establish and promote NASA-related research opportunities that draw on the collaborative strength of private, academic, and government sectors
    • To support education initiatives that will inspire students to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM)
    • To promote workforce development that recognizes the current and future needs of the Connecticut economy.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Statement

NASA Connecticut Space Grant Consortium (CTSGC) seeks to empower diverse candidates to pursue a deeper knowledge and education in STEM fields through funding opportunities in higher education, informal education, and k-12 programs. Encouraging diversity in education opportunities helps create a more inclusive pipeline for STEM careers in the future.


CTSGC Guiding Resources